Vegan Banana Peanut Chocolate Cookies

Here is the deal.  I’m an ex chubby kid who has a sweet tooth and counts calories like a nut job.  I’m also a vegetarian so I tend to eat pretty healthy, but there are few things greater than the joy of a warm cookie touching your lips straight from the oven.

Saturday my sweet tooth hit me at about 3:00PM and I knew I needed to get some work done, so I made my cookies, started a pot of coffee and opened my laptop.  10 minutes later I pulled these delicious treats out of the oven and two minutes after that I enjoyed one with my  Texas Pecan coffee.

I kidnaped the recipe from “Two Peas & Their Pod” and cut the batch in half so that I didn’t overindulged.  Since I was in a real chocolate fix I added a tablespoon of dark cocoa and swapped the vegan chocolate chips for white chocolate.

Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

3 large, very ripe bananas, peeled
1/2 cup creamy all-natural peanut butter
1 tablespoon coconut oil, slightly warmed, but not melted
2 tablespoons agave nectar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups gluten-free oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
3/4 cup vegan chocolate chips


Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat baking mat and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, mash the ripe bananas with a fork. Stir in the peanut butter, coconut oil, agave, and vanilla extract. Mix until smooth.

3. In a separate medium bowl, stir together the oats, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

4. Drop spoonfuls of dough onto prepared baking sheet. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until cookies are set. Let cool on baking sheet for two minutes. Transfer to a wire cooling rack and cool completely.

Copied from:

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/gluten-free-vegan-banana-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Leave a Reply

